Krzysztof Knittel

Free improvisation workshop
by Krzysztof Knittel

Krzysztof Knittel studied sound engineering and composition at the Frederic Chopin State Higher School of Music in Warsaw. He has worked at the Experimental Studio of Polish Radio since 1973 and at the Center for the Creative and Performing Arts at State University of New York at Buffalo in 1978. He composes symphonic, chamber, stage, electroacoustic and computer works that have been performed in most European countries, Asia, North and South Americas. He took part in many art performances, built sound installations and played in improvised music groups. His compositions were written for the National Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir, National Symphony Orchestra of the Polish Radio, “Amadeus” Chamber Orchestra of the Polish Radio, Sinfonia Varsovia Orchestra, Camerata Silesia Choir, for soloists – Elisabeth Chojnacka, Olga Pasichnyk (Critics’ Prize at the Warsaw Autumn Festival for her performance in “The Heartpiece – Double Opera” composed together with John King), Janusz Olejniczak, Tomasz Stanko and many others. Concerts dedicated exclusively to his music were held in Barcelona, Budapest, Cracow, Kromeriz, Leipzig, Moscow, Sao Paulo, Warsaw. Among his honors are the Solidarity Award in Music (1985), Norwid Price in Music (2003), Polish Composers' Union Prize (2003). In 2005 he was awarded by Polish Minister of Culture with “Gloria Artis” Silver Medal. He was also awarded by the Foundation for Contemporary Performance Arts in New York (1998). He has worked in improvised music groups with such musicians as: Andrzej Bauer, Franziska Baumann, Jeff Beer, Ed Bogaard, Marek Chołoniewski, Axel Dörner, Uwe Dierksen, Uli Fusseneger, Tim Hodgkinson, Carl-Ludwig Hübsch, Pere Oliver Jorgens, John King, Włodzimierz Kiniorski, Martin Klapper, Jacek Kochan, Werner Kodytek, Jerzy Kornowicz, Mieczysław Litwiński, Albert Markos, Laszlo Melis, Marek Mietelski, Ernesto Molinari, David Moss, Victor Nubla, Uwe Oberg, Olga Pasichnyk, Zdzisław Piernik, Adam Pierończyk, Jan Pilch, Andrzej Przybielski, Kazimierz Pyzik, Andrey Smirnov, Tomasz Stańko, Tadeusz Sudnik, Raymond Strid, Birgit Ulher, Wojciech Waglewski, Marcus Weiss, Tadeusz Wielecki, Frank Wingold, Niels Winther, Carlos Zingaro, Agata Zubel.